“Climate change and security”. Webinar between NATO Secretary General and international students

16:00 – 17:00
NATO invites you to participate in a webinar between its Secretary-General and international students

Date: Monday, 28 September 2020
Time: 16:00-17:00 (CEST)
Venue: Online seminar (Zoom)
Languages: English and French
On Monday 28 September, Deusto University students will have the opportunity to participate in an online meeting between NATO Secretary-General Jens Stoltenberg and students from nine other international universities to exchange views and stimulate debate on the emerging security challenges of climate change.

This is an initiative promoted by the University of Copenhagen and NATO’s Public Diplomacy Division that seeks to engage young people in a conversation about the future of the “NATO 2030″ Alliance, in which Allied voices, think-tank experts and academics have already taken part.

The meeting will be held from 16:00 to 17:00 (CEST) and will be conducted in English and French, via the Zoom platform. The Rector of the University of Copenhagen, Dr Henrik C. Wegener, will introduce the Secretary-General, and the Director of Carnegie Europe, Dr Rosa Balfour, will moderate the dialogue.

A student from each of the selected universities will ask a live question to the Secretary-General on a specific topic, which in the case of the University of Deusto will be on “The safety implications of climate-induced migration”, while registered students will be able to propose questions via the Zoom chat. Weather permitting, after the initial questions, the moderator will send the selected chat questions to the Secretary-General.

There will be a maximum of 100 students allowed from each institution, so if you are interested in participating, we encourage you to sign up before Friday, 25 September, using the following form, from which you will be given access to the session.



You can also follow the event live on the NATO website.

This is the list of the ten selected universities:

  1. University of Copenhagen(Denmark)
  2. Carleton University(Canada)
  3. Baltic Defence College(Estonia)
  4. Les Jeunes IHEDN(France)
  5. Heidelberg University(Germany)
  6. Luiss Guido Carli University(Italy)
  7. University of Warsaw(Poland)
  8. University of Deusto(Spain)
  9. University of Exeter(United Kingdom)
  10. Georgetown University(USA)
  • Share this content:
  • E-mail
  • Linkedin
  • X
  • Add event to calendar:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>